Canaries trio named in Championship Team of the Season – but Farke is snubbed as manager

Norwich City striker Teemu Pukki has been nominated for the Championship Player of the Season award

Norwich City striker Teemu Pukki has been nominated for the Championship Player of the Season award Picture: Paul Chesterton/Focus Images Ltd - Credit: Paul Chesterton/Focus Images Ltd

Three Norwich City stars have been named in the Sky Bet Championship Team of the Season for 2018-19 – but Daniel Farke has missed out on the managerial nod.

Young full-backs Max Aarons and Jamal Lewis are both included in the Football Manager Championship Team of the Season, as is 24-goal top scorer Teemu Pukki, as part of the nominations for the 2019 EFL Awards.

However, City head coach Daniel Farke has been snubbed as manager of that team, with second-placed Sheffield United’s boss Chris Wilder named as the team’s manager.

There are further award nominations though, with Pukki shortlisted for the Championship Player of the Season award, alongside Sheffield United striker Billy Sharp and Birmingham forward Che Adams.

While young right-back Aarons is nominated for the EA Sports EFL Young Player of the Season, alongside Derby County’s on-loan Liverpool midfielder Harry Wilson and Luton Town defender James Justin.

You may also want to watch:

The shortlists have been revealed ahead of the awards on Sunday, April 7 at the Grosvenor House Hotel on Park Lane in London, when awards will be given out across 13 categories.

All 72 EFL managers were invited to vote for their players of the season, with votes also compiled for the Championship, League One and League Two teams of the season awards.

Most Read

While Farke was not named as the manager of the team, it is the League Managers Association awards which are considered the main focus for bosses.

Aarons’ nomination for the Young Player of the Season will see sponsor EA Sports host an online vote, which goes live tomorrow, equating to 25pc of the overall result, with the other 75pc made up of votes from the EFL Awards judging panel.

James Maddison was City’s lone representative in the Championship team last season, as Farke’s first campaign finished in a 14th place finish, also being nominated for Young Player of the Season but missing out to Fulham left-back Ryan Sessegnon.

This season has been far better though, with Norwich four points clear of Sheffield United at the top of the Championship table with eight games remaining – having won their last six on the spin.

Two former Canaries are also included in this year’s award nominations, with former academy midfielder Cameron McGeehan named in the League One Team of the Season, after the captain of City’s 2013 FA Youth Cup winners bounced back from a broken leg to help Barnsley chase promotion.

Another academy product, Jason Shackell, is also still going strong at 35 years old as he is named in the League Two team after helping Lincoln in their title chase.

Football Manager Championship Team of the Season: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough); Max Aarons (Norwich City), Reece James (Wigan), Liam Cooper (Leeds), Jamal Lewis (Norwich City); Kalvin Phillips (Leeds), Oliver Norwood (Sheffield United), Jarrod Bowen (Hull); Che Adams (Birmingham City), Teemu Pukki (Norwich City), Billy Sharp (Sheffield United)

Managed by: Chris Wilder (Sheffield United)

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus