Ex-Canaries midfielder is favourite for QPR job ahead of Carrow Road meeting

Tim Sherwood at Carrow Road during his time in charge at Tottenham, during a 1-0 Premier League win

Tim Sherwood at Carrow Road during his time in charge at Tottenham, during a 1-0 Premier League win for Norwich City in February 2014 Picture: Paul Chesterton/Focus Images - Credit: Paul Chesterton/Focus Images Ltd

Former Norwich City midfielder Tim Sherwood is leading the bookies’ odds to be the next QPR boss, as the hunt for Steve McClaren’s replacement begins ahead of Saturday’s clash with the Canaries.

The Rs sacked former England boss McClaren on Monday after a 2-1 home defeat to lowly Bolton on Saturday, leaving them with just one win in 15 league games and 17th in the Championship table, eight points clear of the relegation zone.

MORE: QPR sack Steve McClaren ahead of Canaries clash

Assistant manager John Eustace has been placed in interim charge as Rangers start their search, so could be the man in the dug-out for Saturday lunchtime’s televised match at Carrow Road (12.30pm).

Sherwood – who made 88 appearances for Norwich between 1989 and 1992 – is friends with former Tottenham team-mate Les Ferdinand, who is QPR’s director of football.

He has had short and mostly unsuccessful stints as a manager at Spurs and Aston Villa, before a spell as director of football at Swindon Town in 2016-17, which ended in relegation to League Two.

You may also want to watch:

The 50-year-old has been working as a TV pundit ever since but Sky Bet have installed him as the 4/7 favourite for the Rs vacancy.

Former Leeds midfielder Lee Bowyer, currently chasing promotion in League One with Charlton, has come in to 3/1 and Eustace is being offered at 14/1.

Most Read

Next in the list is former QPR midfielder Gareth Ainsworth at 6/1, who has been manager of Wycombe Wanderers since 2012, and former Brentford and Glasgow Rangers boss Mark Warburton at 8/1.

NEXT PERMANENT MANAGER (Sky Bet) – as of 2.45pm Wednesday

Tim Sherwood 4/7

Lee Bowyer 3/1

Gareth Ainsworth 6/1

Mark Warburton 6/1

Carlos Carvalhal 10/1

Kenny Jackett 12/1

Darren Moore 12/1

Gary Rowett 12/1

John Eustace (caretaker) 14/1

Michael Appleton 16/1

Chris Powell 18/1

Alan Pardew 20/1

David Moyes 20/1

David Wagner 20/1

Ian Holloway 20/1

Nigel Pearson 20/1

Paul Clement 20/1

Paul Furlong 20/1

Slavisa Jokanovic 20/1

Steve Cotterill 20/1

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus