Hugill to follow in City greats footsteps with squad number

Jordan Hugill has joined Norwich City from West Ham Picture: Norwich City FC

Jordan Hugill has joined Norwich City from West Ham Picture: Norwich City FC - Credit: Norwich City FC

New Norwich City signing Jordan Hugill has been handed the number nine shirt for the upcoming season.

The 28-year-old was confirmed as a City player on Monday, completing his move from Premier League side West Ham United for an undisclosed fee.

Hugill has put pen to paper on a three-year deal at Carrow Road and trained for the first time with his new teammates on Tuesday morning.

City have had some iconic number nines throughout the years, including Grant Holt, Iwan Roberts, Dion Dublin, Justin Fashanu and numerous others.

Chris Sutton, Mark Robins and Robert Fleck has also had the number nine emblazoned on the back of their yellow and green shirts in recent history.

You may also want to watch:

The last player to hold the number was Nelson Oliveira - who inherited it from loan player Dieumerci Mbokani after City’s relegation from the Premier League.

Club record signing Ricky van Wolfswinkel also held the number after joining from Sporting Lisbon in 2013, but he failed to create a goalscoring legacy in Norfolk.

Most Read

Loanee Dean Marney, Chris Killen and Kyle Lafferty are some of the less memorable City number nines.

Norwich City number nines

Jordan Hugill (20/21) Nelson Oliveira (16/17 - 17/18), Dieumerci Mbokani (15/16), Kyle Lafferty (14/15), Ricky van Wolfswinkel (13/14), Grant Holt (09/10 - 12/13), Chris Killen (08/09), Dion Dublin (07/08), Dean Marney (05/06), Mattias Jonson (04/05), Iwan Roberts (00/01 - 03/04)

Mark Robins (94/95), Gary Megson (93/94 - 94/95), Chris Sutton (93/94), Rob Newman (91/92), Ruel Fox (91/92), Darren Beckford (91/92), Tim Sherwood (90/91), Robert Rosario (86/87 - 89/90), Malcolm Allen (88/89), Robert Fleck (87/88)

David Hodgson (86/87), Wayne Biggins (85/86), John Deehan (82/83 - 84/85), Louie Donowa (83/84), Joe Royle (80/81), Justin Fashanu (78/79 - 79/80), Dave Robb (78/79)

Richard Symonds (78/79), Roger Gibbins (76/77 - 77/78), Viv Busby (76/77), Phil Boyer (75/76), David Cross (72/73 - 73/74), Colin Suggett (73/74), Max Briggs (72/73)

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus