Canaries set to enter League Cup when regionalised second round draw is made this evening

Onel Hernandez scored as Norwich City were beaten 2-1 at Bournemouth in the fourth round of the Leag

Onel Hernandez scored as Norwich City were beaten 2-1 at Bournemouth in the fourth round of the League Cup last season Picture: Paul Chesterton/Focus Images - Credit: Paul Chesterton/Focus Images Ltd

Norwich City will learn their League Cup second round opponents this evening, with the draw regionalised into north and south sections.

The draw will follow Salford City's first round tie with Leeds United (7.45pm kick-off), a match being shown live on Sky Sports.

The Canaries enter the draw along with the 12 other Premier League clubs who are not competing in European competitions this season, with ties due to be played in the week commencing August 26.

Championship clubs including West Brom, Swansea and Bristol City are in the southern section, as are arch rivals Ipswich Town - if they survive their tie at Luton Town this evening.

Long trips to Cardiff, Southampton, Bournemouth and Portsmouth all potentially lie in wait if the Canaries are drawn away from home, with Plymouth and Exeter also in action in the first round tonight.

You may also want to watch:

City have reached the fourth round of the competition in both seasons of Daniel Farke's reign so far, losing 2-1 in extra-time in front of almost 9,000 travelling fans at the Emirates in 2017 and 2-1 at Bournemouth last year.

Norwich have won the trophy twice, in 1962 during the competition's formative years, beating Rochdale 4-0 on aggregate over two legs at Spotland and Carrow Road, and in 1985 when Sunderland were beaten 1-0 at the old Wembley.

Most Read

They also reached the final in 1973 and 1975, losing 1-0 to Tottenham and 1-0 to Aston Villa respectively at Wembley.

- South section ball numbers

1 Bournemouth

2 Brighton

3 Cardiff City

4 Crystal Palace

5 Fulham


7 Southampton

8 Watford

9 West Ham

10 Portsmouth

11 Colchester Utd or Swindon

12 AFC Wimbledon or MK Dons

13 Oxford Utd or Peterborough Utd

14 QPR or Bristol City

15 Plymouth Argyle or Leyton Orient

16 Wycombe or Reading

17 Charlton Ath or Forest Green Rovers

18 Gillingham or Newport County

19 Stevenage or Southend Utd

20 Luton Town or Ipswich Tn

21 Walsall or Crawley Tn

22 Bristol Rovers or Cheltenham Tn

23 Brentford or Cambridge Utd

24 Coventry City or Exeter City

25 Swansea City or Northampton Tn

26 West Brom or Millwall

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus